Certificate IV in Travel and Tourism (Release 1)


Our Version Number: Release 1

Prices shown in AUD

Qualification Description

This qualification reflects the role of skilled operators who use a broad range of tourism or travel skills and sound knowledge of industry operations to coordinate travel or tourism services. They operate independently or with limited guidance from others and use discretion to solve non-routine problems. Many people have supervisory responsibilities and plan, monitor and evaluate the work of team members.

This qualification provides a pathway to work in many travel and tourism industry sectors and for a diverse range of employers including travel agencies, tour wholesalers, tour operators, inbound tour operators, tourist attractions, visitor information centres and other tourism businesses.


Possible job titles include:

  • account coordinator
  • assistant manager
  • marketing coordinator
  • operations supervisor
  • product coordinator
  • promotions officer
  • reservations sales or call centre supervisor
  • senior operations coordinator
  • senior or supervisory retail consultant
  • sales coordinator
  • sales executive.


No occupational licensing, certification or specific legislative requirements apply to this qualification at the time of publication.


Mapping Notes Date
Supersedes SIT40212 - Certificate IV in Travel and Tourism • Entry requirement removed. • Significant changes to packaging rules due to removal of entry requirement. • Non-equivalence based on redesign of qualification structure and number of required units.  02/Mar/2016


    Package Rules

    19 units must be completed:

    • 7 core units
    • 12 elective units, consisting of:
      • 6 units from Group A
      • 6 additional units from Group A, Group B, elsewhere in the SIT Training Package, or any other current Training Package or accredited course.


    The selection of electives must be guided by the job outcome sought, local industry requirements and the complexity of skills appropriate to the AQF level of this qualification.

Core Units - 7 required

Elective Units Group A - 6 - 12 required

Elective Units Group B

Other Unit Options

Start typing in the filter above to show available units.