Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (Release 2)


Our Version Number: Release 1

Prices shown in AUD

Qualification Description

This qualification reflects the roles of individuals delivering training and assessment services in the vocational education and training (VET) sector.

This qualification (or the skill sets derived from units of competency within it) is also suitable preparation for those engaged in the delivery of training and assessment of competence in a workplace context, as a component of a structured VET program.

The volume of learning of a Certificate IV in Training and Assessment is typically is typically six months to two years.


Licensing/Regulatory Information

Achievement of this qualification by trainers is a requirement of the Standards for Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) 2015.


Mapping Notes Date
Supersedes TAE40110 - Certificate IV in Training and Assessment Inclusion of TAEASS502 and TAELLN411 in core units. Qualification structure has been changed to 9 core units and 1 elective unit, previously 7 core units and 3 elective units.  05/Apr/2016

    Package Rules

    Total number of units = 10 

    9 core units  plus

    1 elective unit 

    The elective unit may be:

    • from the elective list below
    • from any currently endorsed Training Package or accredited course at Certificate IV or above.

    The elective unit chosen must be relevant to the work outcome and meet local industry needs.

Core Units - 9 required

Elective Units

Other Unit Options

Start typing in the filter above to show available units.