Certificate IV in Community Services (Release 2)


Our Version Number: Release 2

Prices shown in AUD

Qualification Description

This qualification reflects the role of community service workers who design and deliver person-centred services to individuals and/or groups. Workers may provide support, advocacy or interventions to individual clients, groups or communities across a range of services.

At this level, workers may be autonomous with limited responsibility within established parameters and may be required to supervise and lead other workers in projects or teams. Work may take place in a range of community service, case work or case management contexts.


No licensing, legislative, regulatory or certification requirements apply to this qualification at the time of publication.


Mapping Notes Date
Supersedes CHC40708 - Certificate IV in Community Services Work This version was released in CHC Community Services Training Package release 2.0 and meets the requirements of the 2012 Standards for Training Packages. Merged CHC40708/CHC41012/CHC42512. Significant changes to core units. Change in packaging rules.  06/Aug/2015


    Package Rules

    Total number of units = 15

    7 core units

    8 elective units, consisting of:


    • at least 6 units from the electives listed below
    • up to 2 units from the electives listed below, any endorsed Training Package or accredited course – these units must be relevant to the work outcome


    Any combination of electives that meets the rules above can be selected for the award of the CHC42015Certificate IV in Community Services. Where appropriate, electives may be packaged to provide a qualification with a specialisation.

Core Units - 7 required

Elective Units - 6 - 8 required

Other Unit Options

Start typing in the filter above to show available units.